Click Here!

Magic Online Trading League Bulletin Board
  Magic Discussion
  I have some Tournament / Prize questions

profile | register | preferences | faq | rules | memberlist | search

UBBFriend: Email This Page to Someone!   next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Topic:   I have some Tournament / Prize questions
Malice327
posted May 27, 2010 12:32 PM   Click Here to See the Profile for Malice327 Click Here to Email Malice327 Send a private message to Malice327 Click to send Malice327 an Instant Message Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote 
I want to preface this by saying although I have lots of experience playing MTG and running grass roots tournaments (the smaller FNM, pre release, and launch parties), I have yet to run a larger event. The owner of the store has finally given me the go ahead to potentially gather together a much larger prize pool, to try and attract enough players to the tournament so I can try to get my advanced TO status. That said, there are a couple of questions I have for players / other more experienced TO's:

Players 1) what kind of prize pools, do you find attract you the most to tournaments?

Players 2) As a player do you prefer premium singles as opposed to unopened product as prizes?

Players 3) At what price do you think entry into tournaments becomes unappealing?

TO 1) Is the best place to get power 9 from MOTL?

TO 2) What profit margin do you aim for at a larger event?

TO 3) What size prize pool do you find attracts the most players?

Thank you to anyone who takes the time to have input into this. I completely understand how this might seem "noobish" to more experienced tournament organizers, and I would prefer not to have anyone take any underhanded shots at my lack of experience, but if you must, then you must :P

iccarus