Magic Online Trading League Bulletin Board
  Magic Discussion
  Old School player/trader back in action

profile | register | preferences | faq | rules | memberlist | search

UBBFriend: Email This Page to Someone!   next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Topic:   Old School player/trader back in action
Psiclops
posted November 21, 2013 08:55 PM   Click Here to See the Profile for Psiclops Click Here to Email Psiclops Send a private message to Psiclops Click to send Psiclops an Instant Message Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote 
Hi all!

The recent auction of an Alpha Black Lotus for over 27k on ebay reminded me that I have a lot of valuable cards sitting in boxes. I started playing MTG the week after it was launched at Gencon back in 93. I cringe to think how we treated our cards back then, not knowing how or why to protect them properly.

I actually stopped playing when they switched to white bordered cards in Unlimited and Revised. I thought (wrongly!!!!) that the game was dying off at that point.

So some questions...

Is eBay still the largest/best marketplace for singles? Is the new standard for card grading Becketts? I used PSA for many cards in the past, but that Lotus was a Becketts 9.5, and I never saw a Becketts graded card when I was active previously.

Anyway, I just wanted to introduce myself and see if anyone had advice on the best way to get involved and working toward extracting value from my collections?

Ken Klingler

KIP_NZ
posted November 21, 2013 11:51 PM   Click Here to See the Profile for KIP_NZ Send a private message to KIP_NZ Click to send KIP_NZ an Instant MessageVisit KIP_NZ's Homepage  Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote 
Howdy Ken,
Yes Becketts is generally considered more desirable when it comes to grading, they do sub grades for each of the 4 make ups of a grade (corners, edge, surface, centering) which means people can truly see if that 9 grading is actually a 9.